The inaugural edition of the Oslo Biennial First Edition is set to open in May 2019 and will be curated by Eva González-Sancho and Per Gunnar Eeg-Tverbakk, the curatorial team behind a two-year research-based project entitled OSLO PILOT that has laid the groundwork for the biennial. The name, conceptual framework and format of the biennial will be made available in the coming months. Oslo Biennial first edition is initiated and financed by the City of Oslo, Agency for Cultural Affairs, Norway.

The Biennial’s website is under construction. It will contain ongoing information about the Biennial’s development. In the meantime, you are invited you to sign up to our newsletter. We will be pleased to keep you informed about the next steps the Biennial will take.

Headquarters in the historic centre of the city offers studios for Oslo based artists

Located in the historical centre of Oslo, the building will act as the Biennial’s nerve-centre, housing a visitor centre, the biennial’s administrative offices, and some of the Biennial’s public activities.

Oslo Biennial First Edition will devote a large part of the venue to sixty new artists’ studios—available to Oslo-based artists—on subsidized lease from the City of Oslo. Additionally, the Biennial will initiate its own, national and international, visiting artists programme. This reflects a key ambition of the Biennial; to embrace and foster art in-the-making within the context of Oslo’s art scene by establishing Myntgata 2 as a site for artistic thinking and action, interacting with the dynamics of the city’s vibrant art scene, Oslo Biennial’s First Edition takes a step in this direction.


Eva González-Sancho and Per Gunnar Eeg-Tverbakk both trained as curators and artists. They share a special interest in creating new formats and conditions for the production and display of art with a particular emphasis on art practices in public space. Both have directed several art institutions and have been responsible for a substantial curriculum of exhibitions, production and discursive projects and lectures.

Since 2014, González-Sancho and Eeg-Tverbakk have worked for the Agency for Cultural Affairs City of Oslo as co-curators developing and concluding OSLO PILOT, an experimental two-and-a-half-year research project to conceive the format for the first edition of the Oslo biennial.

  • Eva Gonzalez-Sancho
  • Curator
  • Eva Gonzalez-Sancho has been director and curator of several art institutions and initiatives: MUSAC, Leon (ES) [2013]; FRAC Bourgogne, Dijon (FR) [2003-2011]; and Etablissement d'en face projects (Brussels, 1998-2003). She has curated mainly one-person exhibitions or solo projects, usually involving the production of new work, with artists such as Armando Andrade Tudela, Sven Augustijnen, Guillaume Leblon, Pedro Cabrita Reis, Lara Almarcegui, Ann Böttcher, Jonas Dahlberg, Katrin Sigurdardottir, Knut Åsdam, Peter Downsbrough, Gayen Gerber, Rita McBride, Koenraad Dedobeeleer, Stefan Brüggemann, and Dora García.

    She was also co-curator of Lofoten International Art Festival (LIAF) 2013 (alongside Anne Szefer Karlsen and Bassam El Baroni), and curator of Dora García: Where characters go when the story is over? (CGAC, Centro Gallego de Arte Contemporáneo, Spain, 2009).

  • Per Gunnar Eeg-Tverbakk
  • Curator
  • Per Gunnar Eeg-Tverbakk initiated and was the director of Kunsthall Oslo from 2009 to 2012; project manager for Artistic Interruptions – Art in Nordland, Nordland County from 2003 to 2005; co-curator of the 2004 Nordic Art Biennial Momentum, Moss (alongside Caroline Corbetta); deputy director of the Kunstnernes Hus in Oslo from 2000 to 2001; co-curator of the 1999 Lofoten International Art Festival (LIAF) (with Tor Inge Kveum); exhibition manager at the Nordic Institute for Contemporary Art in Helsinki in 1999, and director of the Otto Plonk Gallery in Bergen from 1995 to 1998.

    He has worked closely with artists such as Nathan Coley, Elmgreen & Dragset, Olafur Eliasson, Matias Faldbakken, Marianne Heier, Aleksandra Mir, Marjetica Potrč, Eva Rothschild, Lawrence Weiner and Knut Åsdam.

  • Ole G. Slyngstadli
  • Executive Director
  • Throughout his career, Slyngstadli has worked on the management, construction and setting up of diverse cultural projects centered in the field of contemporary art. Amongst other projects, Slyngstadli was special adviser to The City of Oslo (2013-2017); festival director of the Nordic Festival of Contemporary Art - Momentum – (2006); head of communication for the Office for Contemporary Art Norway - OCA (2004–6); and head of communication at the Henie Onstad Art Center (2001–2003).

    Slyngstadli has been the editor of a series of publications, hereof Henie Onstad Art Centre’s publication Prisma and Office for Contemporary Art Norway’s Verksted series, he has also edited a series monographies and exhibition catalogues. Slyngstadli holds a master's degree in business management.

  • Erikka Fyrand
  • Press and programme coordinator
  • Erikka Fyrand has long experience form administration and production in the art field among others at institutions like OCA (Office for Contemporary Art Norway) (2006-10), Kunstnernes Hus (2005-6), Nasjonalmuseet (2003-5) og Galleri Wang (2001-5). The last years she has along with her profession as artist, worked freelance on exhibitions at Kunstnernes Hus and at the Munch Museum and assisted the implementation of the International Visitors Program at Oslo Open 2018. Fyrand has also long experience with dissemination of art and representation and has recently finnished the year study of Cultural Management at OsloMet.